Neighborhood Police Officers

Springfield Police Department

The Springfield Police Department has eight patrol officers called Neighborhood Police Officers (NPOs) The NPOs are each assigned to one of the eight beats that make up Springfield and work hard to improve the quality of life in those neighborhoods. The NPOs actively work with the residents to identify issues and concerns in their areas and develop appropriate solutions. The NPOs also serve as liaisons between the Police Department and the various neighborhood associations throughout the city. Unsure which beat your neighborhood is in?

Locate your beat on the map below. You can find all the Neighborhood Police Officers names and contact information below the map.

Type in your address, including city/state, in the white box. Then click the magnifying glass.


NPO Contact Information

Beat 100 Jeff Tavernor 217.741.0979 jeff.tavernor@springfield.il.us
Beat 200 Maddie Cunningham 217.652.2255 madaline.cunningham@springfield.il.us
Beat 300 Mike Newman 217.381.4851 michael.newman@springfield.il.us
Beat 400 Rhet Spengel 217.652.1481 rhet.spengel@springfield.il.us
Beat 500 Michael Badger 217.741.0988 michael.badger@springfield.il.us
Beat 600 Michael Burmeister 217.741.0987 michael.Burmeister@springfield.il.us
Beat 700 Katharine Martin 217.741.4782 kathy.martin@springfield.il.us
Beat 800 Chris Jones 217.741.0981 chris.jones@springfield.il.us
Supervisor Sgt. Gerry Castles 217.414.5205 gerry.castles@springfield.il.us